The School’s Board of Trustees is a governance body that comprises parent / community trustees together with the Principal and one Staff Trustee.

The Board is entrusted to work on behalf of the children who attend the school. Its role emphasises strategic leadership rather than administrative detail and ensures that the school complies with legal and policy requirements. The primary focus of the Board of Trustees, Principal and Staff is to ensure the very best educational outcomes for all children attending Halswell School.

Board meetings are held in the school boardroom commencing at 5 p.m. The meetings are open to the public and our parent community are welcome to attend.


Board Members

The current members of the Halswell School Board of Trustees are:

Trevor Campbell (Chairman)
Francesca Brown
I have been on the Halswell School Board of Trustee’s since 2016. I attended Halswell School myself from 1978 to 1985 and moved back to Halswell prior to my 3 children starting school. My youngest child, Tom, still attends the school (year 4).

I have experienced Halswell School and the local community grow exponentially from a small country village to the largest suburb in Christchurch. This is a critical time for the school to work carefully to maintain a strong community for our children to thrive in. I am passionate about creating a positive and supportive environment for our children and am proud to be able to play a part in that as a member of the Halswell School Board of Trustees.

I am a veterinarian but have been working in tertiary education for many years now and I am currently the Head of Programmes largest allied veterinary professional training school in New Zealand. I am also passionate about true sustainable practice, which probably should be termed regenerative practice and completed a Graduate Diploma in Sustainable Practice in 2015 and am currently part way through a Masters in Professional Practice where I will be looking at social sustainability in my industry.

I believe my passion for the Halswell School, the community, and for strong sustainable practices, as well as my experience in leadership in the education sector are key strengths I bring to the BOT.

Gary Hancock
Penny Wilson
I have been a Parent rep on the Halswell School BoT since 2016.

My husband Walter and I moved to Halswell in 2011 from Wellington, with our 3 Children, Ruby 5 years old now Yr. 9, Theo 3 years old now Yr. 7 and baby Arlo now Yr. 4. We arrived very soon after the Feb earthquakes. Halswell School buildings were broken, but the people weren’t, there was and continues to be a strong commitment by the staff to deliver the very best in teaching and learning despite the challenging circumstances.

My husband and I own and operate an importing, wholesale and retail business. I have enjoyed being an active member of the Halswell Playcentre and School PTA over the past eight years.
As a board member, I am a committed to making decisions in the best interest of ALL students at our school now and for the future.

I believe that all groups within the school must work together towards common and sustainable goals. In best practice, the community, PTA, Board and staff must communicate closely to ensure all sectors of the school community are working effectively towards achieving common goals.

He aha te mea nui o te ao

What is the most important thing in the world?
He tangata, he tangata, he tangata
It is the people, it is the people, it is the people

Marcus Clyne
I have served on the Board of Trustees since 2016. I own a technology design consulting company, and have lived in Halswell for 13 years.

In the almost 10 years since my eldest daughter started at Halswell, we have seen many changes in the school, the community, and teaching and learning, much of which was accelerated by necessity as a result of the earthquakes.

I believe that transparency of decision making, clear communication, and strong community engagement results in a vibrant and happy school. I am proud to support a positive environment that allows each member of our school community (parents, whānau, students and staff) to make the most of the opportunities to learn and grow.

Carena Parish
I have two children at Halswell School, Bailey in Year two and Hunter in year four. My main driver for joining the Board was to improve the outdoor environment for children, particularly in playground space for our active children.

I work part time as a Compliance Manager in the commercial construction sector where I develop and manage internal systems to meet the requirements of national and international standards. This experience has been helpful for me to understand the use of systems at the school. I have been involved in the Property Committee, Health and Safety Committee, Disciplinary Committee, Principal Appraisal and Appointment Committees.

Whilst I have been on the Board the school has made a transition to play based learning and developing a growth mindset. I’ve seen the strategy and theory come through board papers and process, and I have seen positive changes in my two children at home as a result.

Stuart Cameron (Principal)
Anita Head (Staff Representative)
I have served as the Staff Trustee on the Board of Trustees since May 2018. I have worked at Halswell School since 2009 as a teacher and Team Leader. I have a daughter in Year 3 at Halswell School.

I was excited to take up the opportunity to join the BoT last year and be part of guiding the school in its goal to be a “leading school”.

I believe that we have a very passionate and dedicated staff and BoT, and both parties are fully committed to meeting the needs of our students and school community.

Charter and Annual Plan

Halswell School Charter and Annual Plan 2019

Annual Reports

Halswell School Full Annual Report 2017

2019 Meeting Dates

The 2019 Board meeting schedule is as follows:

  • Term 1: February 12, March 12, April 9
  • Term 2: May 14, June 11, July 2
  • Term 3: August 13, September 10
  • Term 4: November 12, December 10